Skip to Content Skip to Footer Accessibility Concerns
School Happenings

VFW Post 10695 honors students, staff
Students, parents, teachers, and principals from across the Dysart Unified School joined the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 10695 in Sun City West during the ninth annual VFW Patriot's Pen and Voice of Democracy essay writing awards program.  The honored guests joined our Veterans for a pizza party and recognition ceremony to announce the contest winners with certificates of merit and gift card prizes. In all, 54 awards were presented to learners from 18 schools in the Dysart Unified School District.

Canyon Ridge School seventh grade student, Brandon Nevers, was selected as the first place winner overall for the Patriot’s Pen contest. His essay will now advance to the next level of competition and will be considered by the 12 VFW posts in the Phoenix District Three area. Willow Canyon High School student, Robert Cerillo was selected as the overall winner for the Voice of Democracy contest. The event also included the presentation of the 2018 VFW Teacher of the Year Award (K-5) to Mrs. Carla Bennett, a second grade educator at Canyon Ridge School, who was chosen for her outstanding performance for developing and enriching activities for students. The 2018 VFW Teacher of the Year Award (6-8) was presented to Ms. Kristin Cox of Kingswood Elementary School for ongoing dedication to students.

“These student and teacher awards are all about the future,” states VFW Post 10695 Commander and Arizona Veterans Hall of Fame inductee, Dennis Grau, “To demonstrate to children that patriotism is important in their lives and to show appreciation for the teachers who show them the way.”

Below are the top three winners for each school in the two essay categories:

2017 Patriot's Pen Essay First, Second, & Third Place Winners

Ashton Ranch Elementary School
                 Brooke Wilkins
                 Megan Gatz
                 Elizabeth Jensen

Canyon Ridge School
                 Brandon Nevers
                 Parker Sorensen
                 Kohen Hill

Cimarron Springs Elementary School
                 Alyssa Robichaud
                 Kameryn Davis
                 Luciana Bazata

Countryside Elementary School
                  Allison Skinner
                  Isabel Martinez
                 Jasmyn Wilson

Dysart Elementary School 
                 Jaiden Stokes
                 Alexa Lucero
                 Mary LaFay

Kingswood Elementary School  
                  Evan Kolami
                  Jasmine Gulei
                  Jenelle McCoy

Luke Elementary School 
                 Oliver Crosby
                 Mia Gaffney
                 Ryan McHugh-Layou & Vy Truong

Marley Park Elementary School
                Courtney Bird
                Jason Nivens
                Kiersten Baker

Mountain View School 
                 Andrew Hageman
                 Adrianna Williams
                 Analiese Rodriguez

Parkview Elementary School 
                 Mathews Esrra
                 Amber Baird
                 Vladimir Wade

Rancho Gabriela Elementary School 
                  Hannah Gulczynski
                  Janae Lopez
                  Danielle Lemoine

Sunset Hills Elementary School 
                 Maia Whitt
                 Kaitlynn Bowman
                 Abigail Tremblay

Surprise Elementary School 
                 Nicole Napolitano
                 James Buffington
                 Lyrica Mann

Thompson Ranch Elementary School
                 Azuriah Irby
                 Christian Ramos
                 Delilah Aguero

Patriot's Pen Essay Overall Winners

Brandon Nevers,  Canyon Ridge School
Nicole Napolitano, Surprise Elementary School
Jaiden Stokes, Dysart Elementary School

2017 Voice of Democracy Essay First, Second, & Third Place Winners

Dysart  High School

                 Taylor McCormick
                 Ren Dickson
                 Maria Parra

Willow Canyon High School
                 Roberto Cerrillo
                 Abigail Nevers
                 Kai Sanford
Voice of Democracy Essay Overall Winners

              Roberto Cerrillo, Willow Canyon High School
              Abigail Nevers, Willow Canyon High School
              Kai Sanford, Willow Canyon High School

Posted : 12/11/2017 | Direct Link
Newer  Older